Faculty

Hilary Turner
D
epartment Head
PhD (McMaster University)

Areas of Specialization:
Rhetoric; Romantics; children's literature; composition

Phone: 604-851-6318
Office: D3002 Abbotsford
hilary.turner@ufv.ca

Read more

 


Trevor Carolan
PhD (Bond University)

Areas of Specialization:
Ecology; literature of the Pacific Rim; creative writing; non-fiction; journalism; contemporary poetry; literature of the Commonwealth; Pacific Rim and South East Asia

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4198 
Office: B376 Abbotsford
trevor.carolan@ufv.ca   

Read more 

John Carroll
MFA (University of British Columbia)

Areas of Specialization:
Creative writing; drama; developmental English

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4148
Office: B376 Abbotsford
john.carroll@ufv.ca

Jocelyn Coates
PhD (University of Illinois)

Areas of Specialization:
Women's writing; restoration period; 18th Century British novel; online teaching

Phone: 604-504-7441
x2458 Chilliwack
x4228 Abbotsford
Office:
A3470 Chilliwack
D3010 Abbotsford
jocelyn.coates@ufv.ca
 

Virginia Cooke
PhD (Queens University)
On Research Leave Sept 1, 2013 - Aug 31, 2014

Areas of Specialization:
Canadian theatre; Anglo-Irish literature; introductory and advanced drama; composition

Phone: 604-854-4516
Office: B338 Abbotsford
virginia.cooke@ufv.ca

Read more

 


Heather Davis-Fisch
PhD (University of Guelph)

Areas of Specialization:
Romantic and Victorian theatre; Canadian theatre; intercultural performance

Phone: 604-504-7441
x2564 Chilliwack
x4466 Abbotsford 
Office:
A3413 Chilliwack
D207 Abbotsford
heather.davisfisch@ufv.ca

 


Rajnish Dhawan
PhD (Guru Nanak Dev University)

Areas of Specialization:
Comparative studies in classical literature; creative writing (drama); modern drama; South Asian literature

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4784 
Office: B378 Abbotsford
rajnish.dhawan@ufv.ca

 


Andrew Gutteridge
MA (Simon Fraser University)

Areas of Specialization:
American literature, Classical backgrounds, poetry and introductory rhetoric; main area of research and secondary teaching interest is Victorian literature

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4241
Office: B384 Abbotsford
andrew.gutteridge@ufv.ca

 


Tim Haner 
MA (University of Toronto)


Areas of Specialization:
American literature; Gothic literature; composition


Phone: 604-504-7441 x8035 Chilliwack 
Office: A3462 Chilliwack
tim.haner@ufv.ca

 

 


 

 

Ceilidh Hart
PhD (University of Toronto)

Areas of Specialization:
Canadian literature and print culture; women's writing; composition

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4157
Office: D380 Abbotsford
ceilidh.hart@ufv.ca

Ceilidh Hart 


Tim Herron
PhD (Queens University)



Areas of Specialization:
Milton; Renaissance literature; Homer; pastoral literature


Phone: 604-504-7441 x4499
Office: B378 Abbotsford
tim.herron@ufv.ca

 


Michelle LaFlamme 
PhD (University of British Columbia)

Areas of Specialization:
Aboriginal literature; Canadian literature

Phone: 604-504-7441 x5145 
Office: B382 Abbotsford
michelle.laflamme@ufv.ca

Headshot 


Helene Littmann
PhD (Johns Hopkins University)

Areas of Specialization:
American literature; Whitman; Pound

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4203
Office: B380 Abbotsford
helene.littmann@ufv.ca

 


Andrea MacPherson
MFA (University of British Columbia)

Areas of Specialization:
Creative writing - poetry, fiction, historical fiction and novel; contemporary poetry and fiction

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4260
Office: B384 Abbotsford
andrea.macpherson@ufv.ca

Read more

 


Heather McAlpine 
PhD (University of Ottawa)

Areas of Specialization:
Romantic and Victorian poetry; Pre-Raphaelite literature and art; poetics; didactic and devotional modes; illustrated literature and emblematics; composition

Phone: 604-504-7441 x5144
Office: B372 Abbotsford
heather.mcalpine@ufv.ca

 


Allan McNeill
MA (Simon Fraser University)

Areas of Specialization:
Victorian literature; 20th century British and Irish fiction; composition; online teaching

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4555
Office: D3004 Abbotsford
allan.mcneill@ufv.ca

Read more

 


Miriam Nichols
PhD (York University)
On Research Leave Sept 1, 2013 - Aug 31, 2014

Areas of Specialization:
American literature, 19th and 20th century; poetry; prose and fiction, modern and contemporary; international modernism; literary theory; history and principles (Plato to Frye); contemporary schools (deconstruction, feminist, postcolonial, Marxist, cosmopolitan) 

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4293
Office: D205 Abbotsford
miriam.nichols@ufv.ca

Read more
 

Prabhjot Parmar 
PhD (University of Western Ontario)

Areas of Specialization:
Postcolonial literatures and theory; South Asian literature and cinema; migration and diaspora studies; multicultural Britian and Canada; women's studies; memory and history; world war and colonial soldiers; modern British fiction

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4472
Office: B372 Abbotsford
prabhjot.parmar@ufv.ca

 


  

 

John Pitcher
PhD (Brown University)

Areas of Specialization:
Chaucer; Medieval literature; poststructuralist theory;
music history

Phone: 604-851-6318
Office: D3002 Abbotsford

john.pitcher@ufv.ca

 


Rhonda Schuller
MA (University of Southern California)

Areas of Specialization:
Rhetoric and rhetoric theories; linguistics; composition

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4659
Office B386 Abbotsford
rhonda.schuller@ufv.ca

Read more 

 


Lisa Storozynsky
PhD (University of Birmingham)

Areas of Specialization:
Renaissance literature; Shakespeare; Shakespeare for children; dramatic literature; poetry; detective fiction

Phone:
604-504-7441 x2538
Office: A3468 Chilliwack
lisa.storozynsky@ufv.ca

 


Michelle Superle 
PhD (Newcastle University, UK)

Areas of Specialization:
Children's literature; Indian children's literature; feminist children's literature; creative writing; composition

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4799
Office: B338 Abbotsford
michelle.superle@ufv.ca  

Read more

Melissa Walter
PhD (University of Wisconsin)

Areas of Specialization:
Shakespeare; Elizabethan and Jacobean drama; Renaissance drama and prose fiction

Phone: 604-504-7441 x4490
Office: B372 Abbotsford
melissa.walter@ufv.ca

Read more

 

 

Former Faculty  

Jim Andersen
past Department Head

Jim's Biography

Jim Andersen Memorial Leadership Award Fund (donation form) (pdf)

Questions?
phone: 604-557-4036
english@ufv.ca

 thumbnail

 

thumbnail


Planning for Fall 2014?
There's more to English than 105!

‌‌

 thumbnail
Twitter Facebook Linkedin Flikr UFV on Google+ YouTube goUFV