Calling for Research Excellence Award Nominations 2015

Deadline for nominations close on Friday, Jan 30, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Each year UFV recognizes individual research excellence through its Research Excellence Award. Those eligible for nomination include all UFV B faculty, including lab instructors, who have completed their probationary period or sessional instructors who have a cumulative equivalent of two years teaching time at UFV.

Selection criteria include innovation, academic impact, mentorship, and interface of teaching and research. Emphasis will be placed on work accomplished as a member of the UFV community but may include additional achievements within the past five years.

Award recipients receive a plaque with the award recipient’s name and the year on it, a framed certificate, as well as an award of $2,500. The monetary award will be administered by the university in order to support the award recipient’s continuing research development.

Nominations will be accepted from B faculty, sessional faculty, or university administrators. Members of the Research Excellence Award Selection Committee may not nominate candidates, and no one may nominate himself or herself for this award.

Completed nomination packages, one hard copy and one electronic copy, should be submitted confidentially to Deborah Block (, Research, Engagement, & Graduat Studies, G290 Abbotsford campus. For more information contact Deborah Block, 604-864-4639 or

Research Excellence Award Nomination package

Research Excellence Award Procedures

Board Policy on Academic Excellence Awards - BRP-235.03 

Award Recipients

2014 Research Excellence Award Winner

Dr. Michael Gaetz, Associate Professor
Kinesiology & Physical Education

In his ten years of combining teaching and research at UFV, Dr. Michael Gaetz focused his scientific research on keeping the population healthy, raising healthier kids, and helping the elderly stay healthy longer through well-planned physical activity.

Gaetz takes a creative approach to research, seeking community partners and collaborating with faculty from other disciplines. He sees many opportunities to involve UFV undergraduate students in community-based research projects. Read more

Dr. Noham Weinberg, Chemistry
2013 Recipient

Dr. Olav Lian, Geography

2012 Recipient

Twitter Facebook Linkedin Flikr UFV on Google+ YouTube goUFV