Board of Governors

Betty Urquhart Community Service Award

Nominate someone great

Do you know a person who has made the Fraser Valley a better place to live? Nominate them for the UFV Betty Urquhart Community Service award.

Betty Urquhart was one of the first employees of the university and believed strongly in volunteering and giving back to the community. While Betty passed away in 1995, UFV keeps her memory alive by honouring a person exemplifying her commitment to life-long learning and community. This award is part of UFV's commitment to changing lives and building community.

Nominations are closed for 2018.

Nomination guidelines

Nomination Guidelines - Betty Urquhart Award

  1. The award is given to an individual for a specific project or series of projects.
  2. Nominations may be made to the Board of Governors by any individual or group in the University region. Nominations should include a statement of the reasons for the nomination and supporting documentation.
  3. The award will be publicly presented at a university event and include a monetary prize to be given to the recipient's charity of choice.
  4. Names of award recipients and their projects will be displayed on campus and on the UFV website.
  5. Normally only one award will be presented in any year.
  6. The University President or designate will chair the award selection committee which will include three members appointed annually by the Board of Governors.
  7. The project(s) for which the recipient is being honoured for must meet the following criteria:
  • The project must demonstrate UFV's commitment to enhancing the quality of life of its communities.
  • The project must have had a significant impact on the community.
  • The recipient of the award must have played a major role in the planning and implementation of the project.
  • This project must have been undertaken at least partially as a volunteer endeavour and not as part of anyone’s salaried or contractual obligations.
  • The project must have taken place at least partially during the immediately preceding twelve-month period.

If you have any questions about the nomination process for the Betty Urquhart Award, please contact Linda Dahl using the contact information below:

Office of the Board of Governors
University of the Fraser Valley, Abbotsford campus
33844 King Road
Abbotsford, BC V2S 7M8
Phone: 604-854-4561

2017 Recipient - Mike Csoka, Chilliwack Bowls of Hope Society

‌We're not at our best when we're hungry. After 30 years working in Corrections, Mike Csoka knows from experience that the best way to keep people out of the prison system is to help them have a healthy childhood. So when he thinks about the 750 children a day he helps feed a hot lunch to in Chilliwack, it warms his heart. Read more


Past recipients
 2016/2017 Mike Csoka, Chilliwack Bowls of Hope Society
~ for his efforts as director of the Chilliwack Bowls of Hope Society, which provides hot lunches to more than 750 children a day in Chilliwack.
 2015/2016 Elizabeth Melnick, Elizabeth's Wildlife Centre
~ for her extraordinary contribution and impact in the Fraser Valley region, through her tireless work to rehabilitate wildlife, and increase awareness, understanding, compassion for and knowledge of wildlife. Read more

The Crystal Gala Foundation
 for their fundraising and promotional work supporting breast health and those afflicted with breast cancer.

2013/2014 Kusum Soni
for her continued work, dedication and programming at Mission Community Services.
2012/2013 1. Brittany Clough
for her work with the "Beautiful, You" project.
2. Veronica Back
for her work with the "Street Hope: Mission OutReach / Lunch and Dinner Program" project.
2011/2012 1. Daphne Clegg and Pat Fuller
~ For their work at Chilliwack's Pacific Riding for Developing Abilities giving therapeutic riding lessons for disabled children.
2. Sandy Balascak and students of the Agassiz Centre for Education "CHOICE" program
~ for their project "When Bad Kids Go Good".
2010/2011 1. Dr. Elizabeth Watt
~ For her work with the Abbotsford Youth Health Centre.
2. Ms. Patricia Murakami
~ For her work with the Tillicum Activity Centre (Hope Association for Community Living).
2009/2010 Yarrow Volunteer Society
~ For the work that this group of dedicated volunteers does in helping to ensure that Yarrow remains a vibrant and caring community.


Milt Walker
~ For his dedication to this community most recently though his involvement in the Reach Gallery Museum project.


Pat and Peggy Wiens
~ Youth Lunchin in Hope.


Tara Scheirer
~ For her project, The Warm Zone.


Heather Stewin
~ For her project, Story Time in the Park.


Elise Goerzen
~ For her extensive contribution to Sardis Doorway. 


Elder College Chilliwack
~ For its dedication to lifelong learning. 


1. Ann Dyble
~ For her contribution to the Community Women's Centre at UCFV.
2. Gwen Point
~ For her contribution to the 11th Annual Pow Wow. 


Ruth Altendorf
~ For her work with the Harrison Hot Springs Recreation Commission.  


Cathy Elliot
~ For her role in establishing the East Chilliwack Family Place. 

1999/2000 Shirley Dargartz
~ For her volunteer service to the Chilliwack Community. 
1998/1999 1. Organizing Committee Operation Rednose Abbotsford
2. Marion Robinson
~ Mission Community Justice Council. 
1997/1998 Harrison Festival of the Arts 
1996/1997 1. Margaret Alfrey, Doreen Derkach, D. Neumann, Freida Stevens, and Pam Wilson
~ Abbotsford Per Support for Seniors Project.
2. Family Literacy Council
~ Chilliwack Families in Motion project. 
1995/1996 Glen Flett
~ For his work with the Partners in Learning Project. 
1992/1993 1. Mary Uslick
~ Coqueleetza Elder.
2. Fred Clarke
~ The Clarke Group.
1991/1992 Mel Folkman and John Smith
~ For their work with the Chilliwack Career Fair. 

Contact Us