Board of Governors

Meet the UFV Board Members

Appointed Board Members

President & Vice-Chancellor

Dr. Joanne MacLean


Dr. Andy Sidhu


Justin P. Goodrich, Chairperson

Justin P. Goodrich is the managing partner of Alliance Public Affairs Group, a public affairs consulting firm with offices in Vancouver and Langley. His areas of expertise include public, government and media relations; strategic communications and stakeholder engagement; and policy development.

Justin began his journey with UFV as a student in 2008. He completed his undergraduate studies in 2012 earning both a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science and an Associate degree in Media & Communications Studies.

Read more

Nash Gill, Vice-Chairperson

Nash Gill is a barrister and solicitor, notary public, and member of the Law Society of British Columbia. He practices as a sole practitioner in Abbotsford, B.C. Prior to starting his own practice at Nash Gill Law Office Barrister and Solicitor, Mr. Gill was a lawyer with Nyack and Persad Barristers and Solicitors in New Westminster. He has experience in the fields of criminal law, family/divorce law, personal injury litigation, property conveyancing and mortgages, wills and estates, and immigration law. Mr. Gill is also involved in his community, as the founding member/director and former president of the Fraser Valley Indo-Canadian Business Association. He holds a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Arts from the University of British Columbia.


Adam Van Steinburg

Adam Van Steinburg is the International Representative for First District Canada of International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW). In this role he manages the IBEW jurisdiction and inter-local matters in all sectors. He is past Business Manager of the IBEW Local 213 where he provided leadership to the union, managed financial assets, and negotiated and administered collective agreements. Mr. Van Steinburg is also past president of the Bargaining Council of BC Building Trades Unions. He has served as an advisory committee member for the Industry Training Authority and the BC Safety Authority. Prior to taking on various leadership roles, Mr. Van Steinburg worked as an electrician on commercial and industrial jobs throughout the lower mainland. He earned his red seal for the Province of BC, obtaining his Journeyperson (Electrical Construction and Maintenance) designation from the BC Institute of Technology.


Connie Swan

Connie is from the N’lakapamux Nation. Her mother is Thompson from Lytton, BC and her late father is Cree from Cold Lake, Alberta.

She has over 15 years of experience working for First Nations Education, with a Masters of Education in Educational Leadership K-12 from Simon Fraser University, a Bachelor of Education from UBC, and a Bachelor of Arts from UCFV.  She was formerly a principal of Skeetchestn Community School, a First Nations Independent School located within the Secwepemc Territory. She served on the Skeetchestn School Board of Education during her time as a principal. She has extensive experience in teaching all grades ranging from K-7 within First Nations Education.

Read More

Fran Vanderpol

Fran Vanderpol is the Chair of The Oikodome Foundation, a family foundation she and her husband Pieter founded more than 25 years ago and operate together with their children. Active in her community, she presently is a Director for Abbotsford Restorative Justice and Advocacy Association and is involved with the UFV Peace and Conflict Studies Program Community Advisory Committee and the vision of a Peace and Reconciliation Centre. Fran was a founding member of Character Abbotsford. Before selling the business to the next generation, Fran was owner and President of Vanderpol’s Eggs. She graduated from Hamilton Teachers College and has studied at McMaster University and Regent College.


Madeleine Hardin

Madeleine Hardin is the former Associate Dean of Faculty in the College of Arts and Associate Professor of Communication at University of the Fraser Valley. She was a publicist for CBC TV, and assistant assignment editor and researcher for CBC TV News prior to starting at UFV in 1990. Madeleine was a fundraiser, raising over $10 million for various non-profit organizations including The Vancouver Aquarium, UFV’s Centre for Indo-Canadian Studies, the Clayburn Schoolhouse restoration, and the Xa:ytem Longhouse Interpretive Centre. She has over 30 years of board experience as a member, policy chair, and chair of various boards.


Maxine Bouthot

Maxine Bouthot is a Branch Manager with Envision Financial, a division of First West Credit Union, in Chilliwack.  With nearly 20 years of banking experience, her areas of expertise are leadership, mentorship, project management, and financial planning.

Maxine completed her BBA in 2007 through what was then University College of the Fraser Valley, returning in 2014 to serve on the UFV Alumni Association Board first as Treasurer and then later as Vice-Chair.

Read more

Elected Faculty Board Members


Christine Slavik

Christine Slavik is Department Head and an Associate Professor in the Child, Youth, and Family Studies Department at the University of the Fraser Valley. Previously she was the Director of Child Life at British Columbia’s Children’s Hospital. She has been employed as a Child and Youth Care Counsellor and as a nurse in psychiatry/mental health. Christine teaches the Child Life and Community Health course as the foundation for the Child Life Specialization and is faculty liaison for the Child Life Internship.

Christine holds a Certificate in Appreciative Inquiry Facilitation and is a Certified Trainer of the Appreciative Leadership Development Program. 

Read more


Shelley Canning

Shelley Canning is an Associate Professor in Nursing at the University of the Fraser Valley and a member of UFV’s Centre for Education and Research on Ageing. She is a doctoral candidate in the School of Nursing at UBC where her dissertation research explores issues of engagement, meaning, and quality of life for older adults with advanced dementia. Shelley’s BSN (hons) and MSN were obtained from UBC, and she completed a BSc and secondary school teaching certificate at the University of Victoria. Shelley’s nursing practice background includes palliative oncology and community health. She has been a nursing faculty member at UFV since 2006 and is involved in a variety of faculty and institutional committees. 

Elected Staff Board Member


Pierce Stoeckly

Pierce Stoeckly has worked at UFV since 2001 as a Program Technician in all trades program areas, and he earned his Automotive Service Technician Red Seal Journeyman designation from UCFV. Prior to that, Pierce worked as a Service Technician for a GM Dealership in Abbotsford.

Pierce has also been an active member of the Kent/Harrison Search and Rescue for the past 25 years.

Elected Student Board Members


Andrew Stahl

Andrew Stahl is in his fifth year of studies at UFV completing two undergraduate degrees in Criminology and History. He has served for two years on the Student Union Society Board, this year as the elected representative for the College of Arts.

Read more

Duncan Herd

Duncan Herd is a Political Science major in his third year of studies at UFV. Duncan spent a year on the UFV Senate as an elected student representative and currently serves as an executive in several clubs and associations such as the Political Science Student’s Association, UFV Pre-Law Association, and the newly formed UFV Debate Association.

Contact Us