

Minutes Faculty Standards Committee

Wednesday, March 6, 2024 - 2:30 PM Abbotsford campus, Room A225

Present: Sheryl MacMath (Chair), Awneet Sivia, Carl Janzen, Cindy Loten, Ian Rocksborough Smith, Jassu Parmar, Lin Long, Mary Saudelli, Sundeep Hans, Tetsuomi Anzai, Melinda Saretzky (recorder)

Regrets: Garry Fehr, Lisa Almos, Shirley Hardman, Tracy Ryder Glass

1. CALL TO ORDER and TERRITORIAL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Territorial acknowledgment given and quorum confirmed.

Welcome to Lin Long and Jassu Parmar

2. APPROVALS

#

2.1. Agenda

MOTION: That the FSC approve the agenda as presented. L. Long/2nd M. Saudelli. Carried.

2.2. Minutes

MOTION: That the FSC approve the Nov 8, 2023 minutes as presented. C. Loten/2nd A. Sivia.. Carried.

3. BUSINESS ITEMS

3.1. Terms of Reference Review

MOTION: That FSC recommend to Senate Governance Committee approval of the Terms of Reference as presented. M. Saudelli./2nd L. Long Carried.

3.2. Review of University-Wide Principles for the Establishment and Review of Standards for Tenure and Promotion

The Faculty Standards Committee has begun the review of the University-Wide Principles for the Establishment and Review of Standards for Tenure and Promotion (Principles). The 5-year review is expected to be complete in February 2026.

The FSC initiated a review of the Principles prior to the meeting and a fulsome discussion was had regarding some of the comments and suggestions.

4. INFORMATION ITEMS

4.1. Senate – Nov. 17, 2023

• Agriculture Technology Department Standards for Tenure and Promotion

4.2. Senate – January 19, 2024

• Faculty of Education, Community, and Human Development Standards for Tenure and Promotion

4.3. FSC Vacancies

4.4. Announcements

• Faculty Service Excellence Award update

Tracy attended the Senate Honours & Awards Committee meeting on February 21st and a motion was unanimously passed to recommend our successful candidate to Senate as the 2024 Faculty Service Excellence Award recipient. In addition, a conversation was had around recruiting nominations for Faculty Excellence Awards in general and more information will follow from the Committee on recommendations moving forward.

5. ADJOURNMENT

M. Saudelli – Adjourn

Next Meeting: May 1, 2024 at 2:30pm in Room A225