Skip to main content


Student Awards

Chemistry Department Awards

Each year the Department of Chemistry presents awards to students who demonstrate outstanding achievements in the chemistry courses taken that year. Winners are selected by members of the Chemistry Department.

Outstanding Achievement in First-Year Chemistry

Value of award: $50 or $75 (Prior to 2012/2013 award was a book with approx. value of $100)

  • 2020/2021 Nathan Slingerland, Shaudi Yazani
  • 2019/2020 Gursimran Bawa, Brianna Whatley
  • 2018/2019 Bernadette Draayers, Ryan Goldbach, Dustin Hurrell, Manreet Sekhon
  • 2017/2018 Mark Huang, Ranjot Kaur, Rohin Makkar, Steven Pankratz
  • 2016/2017 Samim Azami, Amanda Carstensen, Aisa Dobie, Erik Hayes, Do Yun Park, Roopkanwal Warraich
  • 2015/2016 Daniel Driedger, Farzad Fahimi Yeganeh, Nima Kondori, Sarah Chun
  • 2014/2015 Vivienne Beard, YuQi Li, Lauren El
  • 2013/2014 Charles A. Dick, Darryl Wilson, Abhijit Clair, Ryan Robson
  • 2012/2013 Cody Esau, Samuel Harder, Gagan Rai, Alyssa Zucchet
  • 2011/2012 Alexandra Driedger, Nicole van Spronsen
  • 2010/2011 John Alexander, Joshua Nickel, Kaori Sogame, Alexa Dobie 

Outstanding Achievement in Second-Year Chemistry

This award is currently sponsored by Fisher Scientific.
Value of award: $100

  • 2020/2021 Ishika Sethi
  • 2019/2020 Conor Frey
  • 2018/2019 Chandanee Dancey
  • 2017/2018 Daylan Pritchard
  • 2016/2017 Daniel Driedger
  • 2015/2016 Abigail Sherwood
  • 2014/2015 Miranda D. Louwerse
  • 2013/2014 Alyssa Zucchet
  • 2012/2013 Alexandra Driedger
  • 2011/2012 Mandeep Saran
  • 2010/2011 Paul Foth, Brandon Yanciw

Outstanding Achievement in Third-Year Chemistry and Canadian Society for Chemistry Silver Medal

The Canadian Society for Chemistry Silver Medal is awarded annually to the most outstanding student who has completed the penultimate year of a chemistry program during the preceding 12 months.

Value of award: $100 and medal

  • 2020/2021 Riana Jones
  • 2019/2020 Anmol Sharma
  • 2018-2019 Hiroki Ueno
  • 2017-2018 Daniel Driedger
  • 2016/2017 Abigail Sherwood
  • 2015/2016 Darryl Wilson
  • 2014/2015 Kevin J. Kobes
  • 2013/2014 Alexandra Driedger, Lydia Cram
  • 2012/2013 Andrew Alexander
  • 2011/2012 Paul Foth
  • 2010/2011 Jenna Peters

Outstanding Achievement by a Student Graduating with a Chemistry Major

Candidates must have completed a Chemistry major with a good GPA and must have made a significant contribution to the Department of Chemistry during their time at UFV. This award is currently sponsored by Fisher Scientific.

Value of award: $350 ($100 prior to 2011-2012 ) 

  • 2020/2021 Hacina Gill
  • 2019/2020 Hiroki Ueno
  • 2018-2019 Daniel Driedger
  • 2017-2018 Abigail Sherwood
  • 2016/2017 Darryl Wilson
  • 2015/2016 Miranda Louwerse
  • 2014/2015 Lisa Marie Small
  • 2013/2014 Meagan Beatty
  • 2012/2013 Paul Foth
  • 2011/2012 Ben Robinson
  • 2010/2011 Melissa Prachnau and Heather Martens 

UFV Undergraduate Research Excellence Awards

UFV Undergraduate Research Excellence Awards of up to $1000 are presented to those students who have completed outstanding research projects under the supervision of a UFV faculty member. Details of past winners from the Department of Chemistry are as follows:


  • Conor Frey - Undergraduate Research Excellence Award ($1,000) ) -Peptide mapping employing pepsin and triethoxysilylbutyraldehyde: Optimizing immobilization parameters via capillary electrophoresis and mass spectrometric analysis; Faculty Supervisor - Golfam Ghafourifar


  • Kyla Woelk - Undergraduate Research Excellence Award ($1,000) - Experimental and Theoretical Studies of Cycloaddition Reactions: Synthetic Optimization and High Pressure Sensitivity; Faculty Supervisors - Cory Beshara & Noham Weinberg
  • Evan FoleyUndergraduate Research Excellence Industry Engagement Award - Analysis of First Responder PPE and Decontamination Procedures in Exposure to IDLH Ammonia Atmosphere; Faculty Supervisor - Golfam Ghafourifar


  • Kaeden Teindl - Undergraduate Research Excellence Award ($1,000) - Developing and Optimizing Immobilized Enzyme Reactors as Evaluated by HPLC and Capillary Electrophoretic Peptide Mapping; Faculty Supervisor - Golfam Ghafourifar


  • Danika Cheater - Undergraduate Research Excellence Award ($1,000) - Investigation of Nickel(II) and copper(II) complexes of diamide-diphenolate ligands for catalytic water oxidation; Faculty Supervisor - Linus Chiang


  • Darryl Wilson - Undergraduate Research Excellence Award ($1,000) - Computational and Experimental Study of Low-Molecular-Weight Mimics of P450cam; Faculty Supervisors - Cory Beshara & Noham Weinberg


  • Miranda Louwerse - Undergraduate Research Excellence Award ($1,000) - Volume Profiles for Conformational Changes: Application to Internal Rotation of cis-1, 12-dimethoxy[12]paracyclophane; Faculty Supervisor, Noham Weinberg


  • Kyle Rollheiser and Alicia Mercer - Undergraduate Research Excellence Award ($500 each) - Biomimetic Modeling of Enzymes and Receptors; Faculty Supervisor: Cory Beshara and Jason Thomas


  • Meagan Beatty — Undergraduate Research Excellence Award ($1,000) - Synthesis of a Macrocyclic Anion Receptor; Faculty Supervisor:  Cory Beshara
  • Meagan Beatty — Provost & VP Academic Award ($200): Uncovering the truth about nitro-pyrroles while synthesizing a macrocyclic anion receptor


  • Brandon Yanciw — Provost and VP Academic ($200): In Vitro Evolution of RNA‐Cleaving DNA with Peptide Cofactors
  • Paul Foth — Dean of Science Award ($150): Synthetic Steps of GFP Chromophore Analogue
  • Danielle Hamel, Andrew Alexander, and Jessica Tennant — Vice Provost and AVP Academic  ($150): Examining the suitability of lipid nanoparticles constructed with novel synthetic lipids for ionophore-mediated uptake of anticancer drugs


  • Jenna Peters - AVP Research and Graduate Studies
  • Jason Ho - Dean of Science Award
  • Meagan Beatty - Dean of Science Award
  • Brandon Yanciw - Undergraduate Research Excellence Award: Potential Energy Surfaces of Reaction Systems Under Extreme Pressure


  • Jenna Peters —  VP Academic and Provost Award
  • Jenna Peters  and Jacob Spooner— Undergraduate Research Excellence Award: Experimental and Theoretical Studies of Drug Action and Drug Delivery Mechanisms
  • Heather Martens - Industry Liaison Award: Techniques for the Regeneration of Petroleum-Contaminated Vegetable Oil


  • Heather Martens
  • Melissa Prachnau


Department of Chemistry Research Award

 Details of past winners are as follows:


  • Anmol Sharma - Chemistry Annual Research Award ($500) - Synthesis and characterization of electron rich and deficient copper salen complexes for small molecule activation; Faculty Supervisor – Linus Chiang.

Contact Us