Skip to main content


Honorary degrees

The Honorary Degree Selection Committee is seeking nominations for the 2024 Honorary Degrees. The Honorary Doctorate degree is the highest form of recognition offered by the University of the Fraser Valley, and in accordance with the Honorary Doctorate Degrees policy, members of the UFV community may nominate individuals for the award of an honorary degree. Recipients are awarded at the June convocation ceremonies, which they are asked to attend and address the graduating class.

Honorary doctorates may be awarded either a Doctorate of Letters, Doctorate of Laws, or Doctorate of Technology.

Nominations are accepted year-round and brought forth each fall. For consideration for the 2024 convocation, nominations are recommended to be submitted by December 15, 2023.

Selection criteria

Honorary doctorates are awarded to individuals recognized for distinguished and visionary leadership and achievements consistent with UFV’s core values, mission, and goals. They exemplify the highest personal and professional standards that serve as an inspiration and model for students, faculty, staff, and our communities. Recipients may be eminent researchers, scholars, professionals, creative artists, performers, athletes, or persons renowned for exemplary public service regionally, nationally, or globally, who’s contributions have enriched society and the quality of life.

Nomination guidelines

Nominations are welcome from current UFV employees, students, alumni, members of the Board of Governors, and members of the Honorary Degree Selection Committee. Current members of the Board of Governors, current employees, current students, or anyone with direct political, legal, or budgetary authority over UFV may not be nominated.

All nominations must be submitted in writing and normally include the following:

a. A letter that clearly and concisely explains why the nominee is deserving of the award, and

b. A biographical summary outlining accomplishments with examples of relevant information.

Supporting information is also welcome, and may include letters of support, lists of the nominee’s referred publications, shows, or public performances, or documentation of other honors received by the nominee.

Submit your nomination - Deadline December 15, 2023


Nominations are reviewed by the Honorary Degree Selection Committee. The selection of honorary degree recipients requires the utmost care and confidentiality. Nominators should not discuss nominations with the nominee.

All recommendations for honorary degrees received by the Committee are held in strict confidence from the time they are received and are kept confidential in order to protect the privacy of nominees. When a recipient has been approved by Senate, the Board of Governors, and has accepted the honour, the UFV community and the nominator will be informed.

Unfortunately, not all nominations are successful in any given year. The Committee does keep nominations active for a period of three years and additional material may be added to the nomination.




Honorary Doctorate Recipients

Dr. Bonnie Henry (LL.D), Naxaxalhts’i Albert (Sonny) McHalsie (D. Litt), Mike Retasket (D. Litt), Dr. Judith Soon (LL.D)

2022 Jo-ann Archibald (D. Litt); Diane Delves (LL.D); Peter Dhillon (LL.D); Shirley Turcotte (LL.D)

Andrée Cazabon (D.Litt); James Chamberlain (D.Litt); Roméo Dallaire (LL.D); Cathy Press (D.Tech)

2019 Anthony von Mandl (D.Tech); Esi Edugyan (D.Litt); Francis Horne Sr. (D.Litt); John Jansen (LL.D.)
2018 Siyamiyateliyot Elizabeth Phillips (D. Litt); Sophie Schmidt (D.Litt); Kim Bolan (D.Litt); Dr. Malwinder Singh Dhami (D. Litt)
2017 Dr. Nadine Caron (LL.D.); Andy Sidhu (D.Litt); Tamara Taggart (LL.D.); Kirsten Brazier (D. Tech)
2016 Linda Frimer (D. Litt); Halldor Bjarnason (LL.D.); Luigi Aquilini (LL.D.); George Peary (D. Tech).
2015 Shirzad Ahmed (LL.D.); Ginny Dennehy (LL.D.); Dr. Catherine Hickson (D.Tech); Margo Kane (D.Litt)
2014 Charllotte Kwon (D.Litt); Dr. George Siemens (D.Tech); Doug Hamilton (LL.D.)
2013 Bif Naked (D.Litt); George Littlechild (D.Litt); Penny Park (D.Litt)
2012 Ray Silver, Sr. (LL.D.); Red Robinson (D.Litt); Sheldon Kennedy (LL.D.)
2011 Patsy George (LL.D.); Vicki Gabereau (D.Litt); Madeleine Maclvor (D.Litt)
2010 Tantoo Cardinal (D.Litt); Catherine Marcellus (D.Litt);
Wally Oppal (LL.D.); Chief Frank Malloway (LL.D.)
2009 Parm Bains (D.Litt); Dorothy Kostrzewa (LL.D.); Dalip Singh Gill (D.Litt); Robert Nicklom (D.Litt)
2008 G.W. (Wilf) Graham (D.Litt); G. Jack Harris (LL.D); Harry Mertin (D.Litt)
2007 Jake Friesen (D.Tech); Stan Greene (D.Litt); George Pedersen (D.Litt)
2006 Robert Bringhurst (D.Litt); Phyllis Stenson (D.Litt); David Chalk (D.Tech)
2005 Dr. Kuldip Gill (D.Litt)
2004 Elizabeth Herrling (D.Litt); Barry Marsden (D.Tech); Beverly Busson (LL.D.)
2003 Linnea Battel (LL.D.); Eugene Reimer (LL.D.)
2002 Jean Scott (LL.D.); Andreas Schroeder (D.Litt)
2001 David Diamond (D.Litt); Mart Kenney (D.Litt); Brian Minter (D.Tech)
2000 Vic Hollister (D.Tech); Steven Point (LL.D.)